×

SmokeLong Quarterly

Share This f l Translate this page

Elements of Flash: A SmokeLong Introduction to Flash

August 26, 2020

This workshop is sold out. If you would like to be on the waiting list (in case someone cancels), please send an email to editors@smokelong.com

*

The SmokeLong three-hour live Zoom workshop “Elements of Flash” is designed to give participants a solid foundation in the art of drafting compelling flash narratives. During the workshop, we will draft numerous story beginnings, analyze great examples of the form, and focus on what we need to tell the world. We will also learn and practice drafting techniques that will energize your writing.

What sentence-level devices make flash narratives compelling?

What sets flash narratives apart from other narrative forms?

What is a Moment of Being?

We’ll discuss these topics and more, and we’ll come away with lots of story drafts.

Date: September 19
Time: 10am Los Angeles/1pm NYC/6pm London (please check for your time zone)
Duration: 3 hours
Workshop leader: Christopher Allen
Cost: $39 (please send an email to editors@smokelong.com to request payment details)

ornament

Support SmokeLong Quarterly

Your donation helps writers and artists get paid for their work. If you’re enjoying what you read here, please consider donating to SmokeLong Quarterly today.

SmokeLong Fitness--The Community Workshop

Register Now! Begin October 1!

SmokeLong Fitness is the Ongoing Community Workshop of SmokeLong Quarterly. This asynchronous workshop happens on our dedicated workshop site. You will work in small groups of around 12 participants to give and receive feedback. Each Monday, you will receive a new writing task (one writing task each week) designed by the senior editor team of SmokeLong. The core workshop is asynchronous, so you can take part from anywhere at anytime. We are excited about creating a supportive, consistent and structured environment for flash writers to work on their craft.