The SmokeLong Flash Fellowship for Emerging Writers

The 2020 SmokeLong Fellow is María Alejandra Barrios!

María Alejandra Barrios is a writer born in Barranquilla, Colombia. She has lived in Bogotá and Manchester where in 2016 she completed a Masters degree in Creative Writing from The University of Manchester. She was selected for the Immigrant Artist Mentoring Program: Performing & Literary Arts for the city of New York in 2018. Her stories have been published in Hobart Pulp, Reservoir Journal, Bandit Fiction, Cosmonauts Avenue, Jellyfish Review, Lost Balloon, Vol.1 Brooklyn and Shenandoah literary. Her poetry has been published in The Acentos Review. Her work has been supported by organizations like Vermont Studio Center, Caldera Arts Center and The New Orleans Writing Residency.

And please celebrate these 11 writers whose work wowed our team of editors. Watch for them. They are all stars.

2020 SmokeLong Fellowship Finalists:

Amanda Bermudez

Clementine Burnley

Emily Dezurick-Badran

Suzanne Grove

Sara Hills

Stephen Hundley

Tucker Leighty-Phillips

Naomi Telushkin

Cameron Quincy Todd

J. Preston Witt

Hananah Zaheer


The SmokeLong Flash Fellowship for Emerging Writers (formerly the Kathy Fish Fellowship) is an award and year-long virtual residency for new and emerging writers.

The winner of the SmokeLong Fellowship receives $1000.00, paid as follows: $200.00 on announcement of the winner, and $200.00 upon publication of a story in each of our four quarterly issues for the year of the fellowship.

The Fellow participates in online writing workshops, workshopping at least three flash stories each quarter, with the goal of creating a robust flash portfolio by the end of the year. The Fellow also gains an inside look at the editing process, reading and voting on submissions and acting as a guest editor for one week during their residency. We seek a writer who is eager to work on their craft and excited about the idea of working with a journal and being an active participant in our editorial family.

Writers who have not a published chapbook or book-length work in any genre (or are not under contract for such) are eligible to apply. NEW from 2019: Former contributors to SmokeLong are eligible to apply for the fellowship, as long as they meet the other guidelines.


Previous SmokeLong Quarterly Fellows

2018: Tochukwu Emmanuel Okafor

2017: Allison Pinkerton

2016: Shasta Grant

2013-14: Adam Peterson and Megan Giddings

2009: Tara Laskowski

2008: Stefanie Freele

2007: Beth Thomas